I love Michael Jackson

1978 – “Destiny” Album, “The Wiz” Soundtrack & “Ease On Down The Road”

  • Early January :

Michael & LaToya left NYC and returned to the Hayvenhurst home in California

  • January 22:

The Jacksons began a world tour I US & Europe to promote the Goin Places album.

  • February:

The single “Find Me a Girl” was released by Epic.

  • March 3:

Concert in Oakland, California

  • March 10:

The Jacksons attended the First Annual Rock ‘n Roll Sports Classic.

  • May 13:

Concert at the Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles (later released as a picture disc)

  • May 18:

Concert in Nashville, Tennessee

  • May 24:

Concert in London. The Jacksons performed at Top Of The Pops.

  • Summer:

The Jacksons recorded the album Destiny in Los Angeles .

  • August:

Epic released the first single from Destiny titled “Blame It On The Boogie”. For the first time, there is a video to accompany the single.

  • August 17:

Janet & The Jacksons make a publicity photo session

  • August 22 :

Michael gave an interview to Randy Tarraborelli at Hayvenhurst.

  • August 25:

Michael attended a reception for the Robert Kennedy Tennis Tournament at the NBC Building in New York City .

  • August 29:

Michael’s Birthday! He turned 20.

Michael purchased his first Rolls Royce for his 20th birthday.

  • September:

MCA released the single “Ease On Down The Road”, a duet between Michael & Diana Ross from the soundtrack of The Wiz.

  • October:

MCA released the soundtrack of The Wiz featuring Michael on 6 tracks.

  • October 23:

Michael visited the famous toy store F.A.O Schwartz in Manhattan .

  • October 24:

Michael attended the premiere & opening night party of the movie “The Wiz” at the Pitt’s Century Plaza Theater in Century City (Los Angeles) with the Jackson family & Diana Ross among others.

  • December:

Epic released Destiny, the first album for which The Jacksons have total creative control.

The Jacksons launched their first productions company named Peacock Productions.

The single “Shake Your Body” was released by Epic

  • December 4 :

Michael began recording the album “Off The Wall” with producer Quincy Jones and sound engineer Bruce Swedien at Cherokee Studio 3.
At Hayvenhurst, Michael recorded song demos “Workin’ Day & Night” & “Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough” with Randy & Janet as percussionists

  • December 16:

The Jacksons performed “Shake Your Body”, “Destiny” & “Things I Do For You” at American Bandstand.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s